sexta-feira, 15 de março de 2013

Exporting Maya camera to After





    This is a simple method that we used in our experimental project, that shows how to export the camera from Maya to After Effects.
    This method is very useful when we want to avail the movement of Maya's camera into After Effects, to make compositions, for example. Because with this export of the camera's information, we have a very accurate depth reference of the elements that were in Maya, through the use of locators/Null objects.
    The procedure seems long, because it involves many steps, which can be interesting also to be seen individually (they are marked in orange). But it is quite simple:

   After we have the camera movement, first of all we must configure the Maya, to be compatible with AE:

- Go to Display Render Settings window (fourth clapperboard, in the top right)
- In Render Using, change to mental ray
- In Common, on Presets de Image Size, change to the video format that you want to use

   Other needed configuration, is to change the unit of the Maya to AE's unit:

- In Window > Settings/Preferences > Preferences, go to Settings
- And in Working Units, on Linear, change to milimeter

   Also we need to create keyframes on every frame of the Maya camera's movement:

- Go to Edit > Keys > Bake Simulation

   Now, we need to create landmarks (locators), that will help in depth reading on AE:

- Create a locator in Create > Locators
- Position the locator holding the "V", to align with the object
- Duplicate and position, repeating the procedure (if there are other elements involved)

   But to AE recognize the locators, we need to change the name of all locators to NULL:

- Select all locators (it's easy to select them all with the Maya Outliner)
- Go to Modify > Search and Replace Names...
- In Search for:, put locator
- In Replace with:, put NULL
- Click in Replace

  That done, we just need to export to .ma.

- Select the camera that you want to export, and the locators (remember that with the Outliner, it's more practical)
- Go to File > Export Selection (on box)
- In General Options, on File typ:, change to mayaAscii
- In Include Options, only marks the Channels
- Click in Export Selection and define the output

   And import this .ma archive to AE:

- Go to File > Import > File... and search for .ma archive that you exported
- On the Project tab it'll apear two elements: a composition and a folder
- Click twice on composition, to see it
- Notice that inside there are the NULLS (they're the locators tha we created) and a camera
- If we move the Time Indicator, we can see the camera's movement

   After that, to make sure that our AE's camera movement matches the Maya movement:

- On Maya, generate a playblast
- On AE, import this playblast and drag it to the layers of the composition
- Increase size with the Scale, selecting the playblast layer and pressing "S"
- Increase it to match the composition size

   Done! Now if we move the Time Indicator, we'll see that the movement matched perfectly.
   Remember that if something has not been so clear, for lack of something visual, this video tutorial that I used is very good, and explain it all.

http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/autodesk-maya/quick-tip-exporting-3d-camera-data-from-maya-into-after-effects/ by Jostein Finnekasa

Exportando câmera do Maya para o After



   Esse é um método um tanto simples, que usamos no nosso projeto experimental, de como exportar a câmera do Maya para o After Effects.
   Esse método é bem útil, quando queremos aproveitar a movimentação de uma câmera do Maya no After Effects, para fazer composições, por exemplo. Porquê com essa exportação de informações da câmera, temos uma referência muito precisa de profundidade dos elementos que estavam no Maya, por meio do uso de locators/Null objects.
   O procedimento parece extenso, porque envolve muitas etapas, que podem ser interessantes de serem vistas também individualmente (são marcados em laranja). Mas ele é bem simples:

   Depois que temos o movimento da câmera, primeiramente devemos configurar o arquivo do Maya, para ficar compatível com o AE:

- Vá em Display Render Settings window (quarta claquete, no topo direito)
- Em Render Using, mude para mental ray
- Na Common, nos Presets de Image Size, mude para o formato do vídeo que pretende usar
 
   Outra configuração necessária, é alterar a unidade do Maya, para a unidade utilizada no AE:

- Em Window > Settings/Preferences > Preferences, vá em Settings
- E em Working Units, no Linear, mude para milimeter

   Também precisamos criar keyframes em todos os frames do movimento da câmera do Maya:

- Vá em Edit > Keys > Bake Simulation

   Agora, precisamos criar pontos de referência (locators), que ajudarão na leitura de profundidade no AE:

- Crie um locator em Create > Locators
- Posicione o locator segurando o "V", para alinhar com o objeto
- Duplique e posicione, fazendo o mesmo procedimento (caso haja outros elementos envolvidos)

   Mas para o AE reconhecer esses locators, precisamos mudar o nome de todos os locators para NULL:

- Selecione todos os locators (pelo Outliner do Maya fica fácil de selecionar todos)
- Vá em Modify > Search and Replace Names...
- Em Search for:, coloque locator
- Em Replace with:, coloque NULL
- Clique em Replace

  Feito isso, precisamos só exportar para .ma.

- Selecione a câmera que deseja exportar, e os locators (lembrando que pelo Outliner, é mais prático)
- Vá em File > Export Selection (na box)
- Em General Options, em File typ:, mude para mayaAscii
- Em Include Options, só deixe marcado o Channels
- Clique em Export Selection e defina o local a ser salvo

   E importar esse arquivo .ma no AE:

- Vá em File > Import > File... e procure pelo arquivo .ma que exportou
- Na aba Project aparecerá dois elementos: uma composição e uma pasta
- Dê dois cliques na composição, para podermos visualizá-la
- Note que dentro dela há os NULLS (que são os locators que criamos) e uma câmera
- Se movermos o Time Indicator, poderemos já visualizar o movimento da câmera

   Depois de feito isso, para termos certeza de que o movimento do AE, bate com o movimento do Maya:

- No Maya, gere um playblast
- No AE, importe esse playblast e arraste-a para as layers de sua composição
- Aumente de tamanho com o Scale, selecionando o layer do playblast e apertando "S"
- Aumente para bater com o tamanho da composição

   Pronto! Agora se movermos o Time Indicator, veremos que o movimento bateu perfeitamente.
   Lembrando que se caso algo não tenha ficado muito claro, por falta de algo visual, tem esse vídeo tutorial muito bom, que eu utilizei e explica tudo isso.

http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/autodesk-maya/quick-tip-exporting-3d-camera-data-from-maya-into-after-effects/ por Jostein Finnekasa


quinta-feira, 14 de março de 2013

Serenity's place


   Depois de muito, muito, muito... muito tempo. Eis mais um post! Pra celebrar um pouquinho essa volta com força total (assim esperemos)!

   "After a long, long, long... long time. Here is one more post! To celebrate a little this comeback with full power (we hope so)!"

quinta-feira, 27 de dezembro de 2012

Christmas Night



   Um pouco atrasado, mas Feliz Natal à todos! Fiquei um tempinho nessa ilustração, porque estive explorando algumas coisas novas.
   Na realidade essa é uma ilustração especial para minha família, da qual sou muito grato! E família... é sempre especial! De algum modo, sempre acabam nos apoiando e acreditando na gente, independente do caminho que seguimos.
   É claro, que às vezes, é um pouco complicado, porque eles desejam sempre o melhor pra gente. Mas no final tudo se acerta. Em troca, devemos apenas, acreditar! Acreditar no potencial de cada um (inclusive de nós mesmos), porque é acreditando que tornamos as coisas possíveis!

   "A little bit late, but Merry Christmas everyone! I spent some time on this illustration, because I was exploring some new stuffs.
    In reality this is a special illustration for my family, for which I am very grateful! And family ... is always special! Somehow, they always end up supporting us and believing in us, regardless of the path we choose to follow.
    Of course, sometimes it's a little tricky, because they always want the best for us. But everything go fine in the end. In exchange, we just have to believe! Believing in the potential of each one (including ourselves), because it's believing that things become possible!"
 

domingo, 23 de dezembro de 2012

Pen Tool Selection and Action




   Recently I returned to use this method, which is basically a creation of a selection with the Pen tool.
   For those that don't know, the Pen Tool is a tool that enables the creation of more accurate and elaborate curves. You can see it in many softwares such as Photoshop, Illustrator and After Effects.
    This method can be very useful when you want to make a specific selection, which you hardly could do with other forms of selection (Lasso Tool, Polygonal Lasso Tool and Magnetic Lasso Tool), because you can edit the points you make , turning them into curves.
    The problem is that in Photoshop, when we create a shape with the Pen Tool, we just creates a "path" and not a selection. So basically we just need to turn it into a selection.

   The steps are very simple:

- Create your "path" or shape with the Pen Tool.
- If the window "Paths" isn't enabled, enable it on Window > Paths
- Notice that inside the window "Paths", there is a layer "Work Path"
- To transform our shape into a selection, just click in "Load path as selection" (third icon from left to right, at the bottom of the window "Paths")

   It's a very easy and practical procedure. But to not make this process every time, we can create a shortcut that does it for us. 

   For this, we should create a command, by an Action:

- Create a "path" with the Pen Tool
- Enable the window "Actions" on Window > Actions
- Create a new command in "Create new action" (fifth icon at the bottom of the window "Actions")
- In "Name", name it the way your prefer (per exemple: pen_to_path)
- In "Function Key:", you put the shortcut that you'll hit to execute the command (in my case, I set to press "F2")
- Then click in "Record"
- Notice that the second icon turned red, which means, that it's going to record everything you do from now on
- On window "Paths", click in "Load path as selection"
- Then drag the layer "Work Path" to the dump, because we won't need it anymore
- On window "Actions", click on the first icon at the bottom, to stop the recording

   Done! Now we have an Action, that will make all the procedure for us, when we hit the hotkey.
   If something hasn't been very clear, for lack of something visual, this video tutorial is very good. I used and it explains everything we saw here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUG26N-YKrM by Matt Kohr

Pen Tool Selection e Action



   Recentemente voltei a usar esse método, que é basicamente uma criação de uma seleção por meio da ferramenta Pen.
   Pra quem não sabe, a Pen Tool é uma ferramenta que possibilita a criação de curvas mais precisas e elaboradas. Sendo que ela está presente em muitos softwares, como por exemplo no Photoshop, Illustrator e After Effects.
   Esse método pode ser bastante útil, quando você quer fazer uma seleção específica, na qual dificilmente você conseguiria fazer com as outras formas de seleção (Lasso Tool, Polygonal Lasso Tool e Magnetic Lasso Tool), justamente porque é possível editar os pontos que você faz, transformando-as em curvas.
   O problema, é que no Photoshop, quando criamos uma forma com a Pen Tool, ele apenas cria um "caminho" e não uma seleção. Então, basicamente só precisamos transformá-la em uma seleção.

   Os passos são bem simples:

- Crie seu "caminho" ou forma com a Pen Tool.
- Caso não esteja habilitada a janela "Paths", habilite-a em Window > Paths
- Note que dentro dessa janela "Paths", há uma camada chamada "Work Path"
- Para transformar nossa forma, em uma seleção, basta clicar em "Load path as selection" (terceiro ícone da esquerda pra direita, at the bottom of the window "Paths")

   É um procedimento bem fácil e prático. Mas para não termos que toda vez fazer esse processo, podemos criar um atalho que faça isso por nós. 

   Para isso, devemos criar um comando, por meio de uma Action:

- Crie um "caminho" com a Pen Tool
- Habilite a janela "Actions" em Window > Actions
- Crie um novo comando em "Create new action" (quinto ícone na parte inferior da janela "Actions")
- Em "Name", nomeie do jeito que preferir (por exemplo: pen_to_path)
- Em "Function Key:", você coloca o atalho que você apertará pra executar o comando (no meu caso, eu configurei para apertar o "F2")
- Depois só clicar em "Record"
- Note que o segundo ícone ficou vermelho, isso significa, que ele vai gravar tudo que você fizer a partir de agora
- Na janela "Paths", clique em "Load path as selection"
- Depois arraste a camada "Work Path" para a lixeira, porque não iremos precisar mais dela
- Na janela "Actions", clique no primeiro ícone na parte inferior, para parar a gravação

   Pronto! Agora temos uma Action, que fará todo o procedimento pra gente, quando apertarmos a tecla de atalho.
   Caso algo não tenha ficado muito claro, por falta de algo visual, tem esse vídeo tutorial muito bom, que eu utilizei e explica tudo isso.
 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUG26N-YKrM por Matt Kohr

sexta-feira, 21 de dezembro de 2012

About the Tutorials

   Os tutoriais que irei compartilhar muito provavelmente não terão imagens de "passo a passo", pois eles serão uma espécie de documento de alta praticidade. Serão mais "mini tutoriais" do que tutoriais propriamente dito. Pode parecer meio chato ter que ler um montão de textos, mas acho que funciona melhor dessa forma e talvez vocês entendam o porquê.
   Muitas vezes, enquanto eu fazia alguns trabalhos, surgia uma duvidazinha ou outra bem simples, que eu simplesmente acabava esquecendo, durante o processo. Mas aí eu tinha que reabrir o vídeo, reassistir algumas partes, ou às vezes, até tudo denovo (porque não sabia em que parte estava), pra então, sanar minha dúvida...
   Depois que um grande amigo, Bruno Hamzagic, fez alguns mini tutoriais pro nosso grupo, durante a faculdade, no intuito de explicar algumas coisas, eu percebi que aquilo funcionava muito bem. Pelo menos pra mim, foi ótimo. Então, basicamente o que vocês verão de tutorial, é fruto da simples genialidade desse cara fantástico.
   É claro que tentarei deixar o mais claro possível, para que qualquer um consiga entender apenas por meio do texto. O intuito é que seja de "fácil leitura, à qualquer hora".


   "The tutorials that I'll share probably won't have "step by step" images, because they'll be a kind of high practicality document. They'll be more like "mini tutorials" than tutorials. It may seem kind of boring having to read a lot of text, but I think it works better that way and maybe you'll understand why.
   Many times, while I did my works, some very simple doubts popped out, during the process. Then, I had to reopen the video, rewatch some parts, or sometimes, the entire video (because I didn't remember where the part was), to then, solve my doubt...
   After a great friend, Bruno Hamzagic, did some mini tutorials for our group, during college, in order to explain some things, I realized that it worked very well. At least for me, it was great. So basically what you will see about tutorial, is the result of the simple genius of this amazing guy.
    Of course I will try to make it as clear as possible, so that anyone can understand only through the text. The intent is that it is 'easy to read, at any time.'"